Great Weekend

This was a fantastic weekend! Went for a run around Lake Harriet today with a few friends and went to the bars last night with some friends from school and the area 🙂  My run today consisted of about 2 miles of walking and 2 miles of walking.  The bad news is this has been an absolutely terrible week for eating.  I am sure if I weigh in tomorrow or Monday it will say I gained anywhere between 3 and 4 pounds, hopefully by next Saturday I can get close to where I was this past Thursday.  It’s alright, sometimes in life we have to have a bit of fun especially with good company.  What is different now than two years ago is that I know I can get back into the habit.  So what are a few things that makes this “slip-up” different than the past?

 

1. Positivity-I have found that being positive is so important towards living a healthy and fulfilling lifestyle.  When I approach a situation with positivity rather than doubt or negativity I find it to be much more fulfilling.  Rather than think of losing weight as a long drawn out process, I saw it as an opportunity to become healthier as well as play sports in a better way.

2. Forgiving Myself-Yes, I make mistakes and plenty of them!  This whole weekend can attest to that.  But, the main thing I remind myself is that I can always start new the next day.  This journey is not a competition with anyone and especially not with myself.  I don’t let health become a competition.  I try to let fitness and even running times be a competition but not weight loss or general health.

3. Consistency-To go along with that last point, an incredibly important factor in this journey has been the ability to stay consistent.  If I make a mistake I just get right back to what I was doing before.  I try to be consistent so both my brain and body know what to expect and how to react.

 

Any thoughts? Leave your comments below!

About TestingTrueChange

I am a 22 year old recent graduate working on losing the weight and changing my life in a positive way.
This entry was posted in Creativity, Workouts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Great Weekend

  1. alan says:

    Good thoughts. Just get back on the bike….

  2. 1 Positivity – Snap!
    2. Forgiving Myself – Crackle!
    3. Consistency – Pop!

    Absolutely. I’ve had a bit of a rough patch myself and wiped the slate clean starting yesterday.

    As I always say, you simply need to get back to work and keep things from spiraling too far out of control, but I am not worried. I know you have learned how to do that. 😀

    • Thanks! Yep I can’t let this trend continue, may have a down week this upcoming weigh in due to all the eating out but it will not continue after 🙂 Thanks so much for the support! You are going to do awesome, I bet you’ll take it off within a week or two 🙂

Leave a Reply

