Review of Rise of the Planet of the Apes (Spoiler alert)

Well I saw “Rise of the Planets of the Apes” last night and I have to say it was pretty good!  It really made me want to go back and see the original all over again.  I definitely think they are planning to do their own sequels to this movie as there were a lot of questions left unanswered.

 

Plot:

Well the movie was great in the beginning and the middle but sort of slowed down towards the end.  I really liked the development of Caesar’s character and that was definitely my favorite part of the movie.  Seeing him grow up in James Franco’s house and exploring the redwood forest was a very cool aspect of the plot.  I do have a hard time understanding how the disease wasn’t quarantined after Franklin showed that he was sneezing blood in the lab.  You would think professional scientists might understand that could be a warning sign.  I also didn’t quite get how the apes escaped all the humans on the bridge at the end of the movie, you would think the would account for under and above the bridge…in any case, I thought the vast majority of the movie was very well done!

 

Overall Grade: B+/A-

About TestingTrueChange

I am a 22 year old recent graduate working on losing the weight and changing my life in a positive way.
This entry was posted in Creativity, Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Review of Rise of the Planet of the Apes (Spoiler alert)

  1. alan says:

    Take your stinking paws off me, you damned dirty ape!

  2. paulbentley says:

    Yeah agreed, it felt like a set up for a sequal. I’m guessing most of the human population is going to die out via a virus from the 113 vaccine. Hence the massive sneeze on McKay Stargate Atlantis 🙂

    Viva la revolucion !!!

  3. Over confidence. The police on the bridge thought they were fighting normal apes. They had no real idea of the intelligence level.

    I agree the virus idea was a tad weak but that is better than having to explain survivors of a nuclear holocaust like the old versions.

    I was surprised how much I liked it. We have been arguing about the film on another board for months. People found it impossible the apes could revolt and win. Well, they took care of that little problem with the virus.

    I nitpick a lot and my main nitpick would be the CEO. After the initial incident to start the movie, no CEO in the world would toss the project aside given the positive data up to that point. Once again with the data from the original human test, no CEO would toss the project to the side. I didn’t understand why the CEO didn’t want to move forward with the Alzheimers cure but once he heard it might increase intelligence, he was back on board. Everything the CEO did was weak. Heck, it also made no sense he would be on the police chopper at the end. If his character had been removed completely, it wouldn’t hurt a thing.

    Good movie and I actually can’t wait for a sequel.

    • Good points, I did like it overall, just a few small things I thought could be different. I agree, the CEO was kind of a worthless character in the movie and am excited to see a sequel as well!

Leave a Reply

