Transitions

Well, in the next couple of days I will be making a huge transition from Denver to Minneapolis/St. Paul!  As I do this, I am thinking of how I have successfully dealt with transitions in the past, and will list a few things that have helped me.

1. Open To Change: I think having this mindset is incredibly important.  Be open to new possibilities even if at first it doesn’t seem like something you want.  For example, before I decided to lose weight, the idea that working out every day would become something I wanted to do would have seemed ridiculous to me!  New things will take you to a place you’ve never been before and at the worst it is a life experience.

2. Prepare-This one is very important to me.  Before doing something new, I try to do all the research and preparation I can.  I find this ultimately makes the new experience easier and more seamless.

3. Don’t Look Back-Yes it’s important to learn from the past and even hang onto the memories.  But don’t let that cripple you from moving towards the next step.  Live in the now and in the future rather than in the past.

Would love to hear your thoughts!

About TestingTrueChange

I am a 22 year old recent graduate working on losing the weight and changing my life in a positive way.
This entry was posted in Creativity, How-To Articles and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Transitions

  1. Your point on not getting hung up on the past is my favourite. I, like many others I’m sure get too hung up on how I use to look, how much weight I was able to lift and how long I was able to run for. This has really hindered my progress at some points and although I think its fine to reflect, focusing too much the past can set me up for failure.

    • Thank you for the comment! I think as long as the past isn’t a hindrance it’s alright to use it and reflect. But, at least for me, I can’t let past mistakes rule my life now or in the future!

  2. Good luck with the move and the new direction. 😀

  3. Kara says:

    Good luck with the move and with getting settled in!

Leave a Reply

