Fear

Fear,
It tends to cause a tear.
It can cause one to wear.
To wear down and give up.

What is it that holds us back?  This is a question I ask myself every day.  Yes, we all have attachments to certain things and people, but what is it that truly holds us from accepting change?  In my case it has been fear.  A fear of the unknown.  This is why it took me so long to try and lose the weight again.  This is why it took me a long time to apply for graduate and law schools.  This is why it took me so long to have an idea of what to do.  Well, I will no longer let fear of the unknown dictate my life.  I will move forward and be the best person I can be.  I will do my best to help people for the better and change my own life for the better.  I will not accept subpar treatment from myself or for myself.  This is my promise to myself for the rest of my life.  That I will daringly go into a place completely unknown without fear and without knowledge of what may be and with respect for myself and others.  So how do I combat fear? Hope.

About TestingTrueChange

I am a 22 year old recent graduate working on losing the weight and changing my life in a positive way.
This entry was posted in Creativity and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Fear

  1. alan says:

    I like your words. Rarely, in retrospect, have I ever regretted extending myself into something new and unknown.

  2. Shonnie says:

    I completely understand how you have felt in the past. We can’t let fear hold us back. I think about my hubbies blog on this http://microbusinesssolutions.wordpress.com/2011/03/24/are-you-afraid/ that and shame. Those two are real killers of forward motion.

    Really enjoyed this post. 🙂

    • I’m so happy you enjoyed it 🙂

      Shame can also be a major player, as well as many others. Currently what has been holding me back is fear and I can’t let that continue!

  3. Mike Wilson says:

    Thank you for commenting on my blog. I like this post of yours. Fear really is a prison–if we tremble and are frozen before it. This is the only life we will get, and we should stretch ourselves to make the most of it everyday.

  4. booguloo says:

    Hold your banner high.

Leave a Reply

