3 Reasons I Lost Weight

So today I wanted to talk about some things that made it incredibly hard and even humiliating to be overweight.  Things that people who are of normal weight and stature usually don’t have to deal with.

1. Self Image-This was always a tough one as I always felt that I looked terrible.  At the same time, I always felt that I could keep up when playing sports with friends when in reality usually I couldn’t or barely could.  I felt as though when I walked in a room the only thing people would notice was that I was the fat guy.  I felt that in order to compensate for this I had to make jokes about it or put myself down.  Well, although this may be funny, over time it really did eat away at my self-esteem.

2. Flying/Movies/Booths-Although these were never huge issues for me, I do remember at my highest weight having to ask for a seat belt extender and having a hard time fitting in seats at the movie theater and in a booth.  Embarrassing yes, but a definite motivator for me now!

3. Athletics-This one was also a huge issue.  I have always loved to play sports and do active things but over the last couple years I had gotten to the point where I could barely play a half-court basketball game much less an easy hike in Colorado.  I remember going on a hike last summer where by the halfway point I felt like I was going to collapse.  Now, I have gone hiking in quite a few places and have made it through just fine!

Anyways, these are three more motivators to keep me losing weight.  I post this in the hopes that it keeps me motivated and just maybe helps you!

Any thoughts? Leave your comments below!

About TestingTrueChange

I am a 22 year old recent graduate working on losing the weight and changing my life in a positive way.
This entry was posted in Creativity, Music Video's and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 3 Reasons I Lost Weight

  1. Alan says:

    You’ve always been a good looking guy…you’re just better looking now!! (and healthier, too).

  2. cruz2lose says:

    I don’t even know where to begin with this one! I am so glad that you wrote this post, I relate so much to the embarrassment of being overweight and the effects that it had on my self-esteem. What amazes me now is that when I was severely over weight that men would walk through doors and let them slam in my face, now men go out of their way to open them for me. On one hand I am flattered and on the other hand it saddens me. I was just as worthy of an open door then as I am now.
    Also, it was so incredibly embarrassing to go into a restaurant and try to slide myself into a booth and being barely able to fit. : ( It really picks away at you inside and it is a silent suffering, at least it was for me. I feel so much better about myself now and feel good that I have added years back on to my life. : ) Thanks for writing this one!

    • Thank you so much for the amazing comment! It is unfortunate how people are treated for not meeting certain societal “expectations”. I also feel much better about myself now 🙂

Leave a Reply

