By My Side

This is a poem I wrote a while ago, this will be the first time I’ve shared the full thing in a public forum.  Would love to hear what you all think of it!

By My Side

Everyday I plan on going away
I don’t know what I’ll find but I’ll make sure it stays
I’m on the run from the midday sun
tryin to make it home before the day is done
I’m gonna be more than just a pawn
waking up at dawn trying to win this game

Everyday that I’m standing here
my losses become quite clear, age doesn’t care about shame

So put away your judgmental ways
Seek through this temporary phase
and continue to look through this misty haze
this race this place of shame
we can be more than a name
trying to win fame

So don’t you go too far away
I’ve got one last thing to say
Just stay one more day in this place
So I can see your face

I’ve got no worries
I’ve got peace of mind
Just as long as you’re by my side

©2011

About TestingTrueChange

I am a 22 year old recent graduate working on losing the weight and changing my life in a positive way.
This entry was posted in Creativity and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to By My Side

  1. cruz2lose says:

    Beautiful poem David…thank you for sharing your creative talent. : )

  2. Jingle says:

    lovely sentiments, well done.

    A++

  3. Olivia says:

    I loved your words here for the feel of it!
    Very tranquil 🙂

    Peace xx

  4. Lovely poem ..Smooth flow!

Leave a Reply

