What Motivates You?

Today’s was a decent workout.  Not great but not terrible! Still quite sore from snowshoeing on Sunday :/ Hopefully by Friday I will be able to go the whole 3 miles.

Results:

Starting Weight: 296 lbs

Current Approx. Weight: 230.8 lbs

Distance: 2.77 mi

Total Time: 31:51 min

Average Mile pace: 11:30/mi

Fastest Mile pace: 11:23/mi

Average Speed: 5.2 mph

Average Heartrate: 166 bpm

Calories burned: 618

 

Workout song of the day: “Sweet Child of Mine” by Guns N’ Roses

This song came on while I was working out.  While normally I am not really a huge Guns N’ Roses fan (mainly because I’m not a huge fan of Axl), the solo here is just perfect for a run.  Wonderful build up and follow through!

Thought of the Day:

Today, while running I thought of what things could possibly motivate me.  Why do I want to lose weight?  Personally, I think that any reason that can get you to lose weight permanently is a good one.  I don’t feel it has to just be for health. It could be a plethora of other things.Well, I came up with a preliminary list of reasons why I am motivated to lose weight.

1. Don’t want to have to get surgery

2. Want to live longer

3. Want to feel better about my body

4. Want to be able to get in and out of a car with ease

5. Want to be able to go on hikes with friends

These are five of a long list (that I will probably make and post next week :D) what are some of your motivating factors?

Any thoughts? Leave your comment below!

About TestingTrueChange

I am a 22 year old recent graduate working on losing the weight and changing my life in a positive way.
This entry was posted in Weight Loss Efforts, Workouts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to What Motivates You?

  1. eva626 says:

    my motivation when i feel like im never gona get there is…my favorite actresses body1!! and i go..im gona get it!!!!! cause i love her and her body is so fit!!!! nice post btw lol

  2. I am motivated to be healthier for my kids. I want to be around (and not be limited in mobility – if I have a choice) so I can enjoy whatever the future holds. My mother-in-law struggles with her weight, and it has manifested itself in her lifestyle through diabetes and other health conditions, that would be lessen and even eliminated with exercise, proper diet and weight loss.

    I guess I try to evaluate barriers in my life, and decide if they are self-imposed, actual, or imaginary. For example – I am not a runner, but who says I can’t become one? I can sit on the couch and lament about the things I would like to do, or I can do them. It starts within. 🙂

    I love your eclectic mix of music!

    • That is a wonderful perspective and reason to be motivated! Thank you for sharing it.

      I agree it absolutely starts from within, when I started I couldn’t run a quarter mile straight!

      As for the music, thank you! These are some of my favorites to work out to 😀

  3. Alan says:

    Running relieves my stress!

  4. Molly Nitka says:

    I am motivated to get healthy FOR ME.

    So I look good in a bridesmaid dress.

    To look good in a swim suit.

    To be a role model for the kids I work with, my friends who don’t think they can lose weight and when I have kids (not for awhile though)

  5. Hiking is one of my reasons too. My dad has always wanted to hike a lengthy section of the appalachian trail with me and my brothers. I tried toting gear around my back yard one day and knew I could never reach that day unless I got healthy. I’m looking forward to doing that one day!

Leave a Reply

