Idiotic Generation

This is kind of a sarcastic poem I wrote a while ago.  My intention was to make fun of stereotypes of people my age having no clue what’s going on in the world around them or how to proceed to make the world a better place.  Feel free to interpret it however you want.

Idiotic Generation

They Say, We’ve become a faceless face
no heart to keep the pace
with only corporations
to lead this nation
we’ve become an idiotic generation

They Say, All that matters now is place
or whether you have a name
but what is fame
except for an exaggeration
for this idiotic generation

Now I’m not saying you fit into this category
but this is what’s going to go down if we don’t change our story
so grow a mind
see what’s behind
this idiotic generation

You are wrong about us you see
we’re not going to passively agree
with this characterization here and overseas
we’re no different than any other
in this idiotic generation

it seems you forget all the wars in the past
the ones that  would forever last
they left a mark on our map
one not created by our time
in this idiotic generation

all that should matter is love
now I’m no dove but I’m no hawk
better to get together and talk
than to blow each other up
save this idiotic generation

Now I know we all love hope
but hope means nothing
unless there is action to pull
us through the dark
where there’s no one to hold us
in this idiotic generation

©2011

Any Thoughts? Leave your comments below!

About TestingTrueChange

I am a 22 year old recent graduate working on losing the weight and changing my life in a positive way.
This entry was posted in Creativity and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Idiotic Generation

  1. I love this poem. I hope you post more soon 🙂

  2. agree..

    best wishes…

    invite you join poets rally week 39, click on my link to view, thanks.
    Happy Sunday!
    🙂

    • Appreciate the comment! Would be very interested in participating. I had a clarification question about the 3rd requirement of unlimited access? I assume that just refers to visiting or reading my poems?

      Thanks!
      ~David

  3. Jingle says:

    welcome to JP..

    lovely write.

    A++

Leave a Reply

