Running and Weight Loss

Today’s workout was decent.  Not quite as extensive a I was hoping but I ran the whole two miles at least.  Will shoot to do better on Wednesday.  My hope for this week is to lose around 2 pounds.  That would put me at 8 pounds so far this month (My weight loss month goes from February 6 until March 6th).  My original goal was to be down 62 pounds by March 6th.  Seeing as I’m at 62.6 now, I think I may have to raise it!  I think I will shoot for 65 pounds!

Results:

Starting Weight: 296.3 lbs

Current Approx. Weight: 233.7 lbs

Distance: 2.01 mi

Total Time: 23:52

Average Mile pace: 11:53/mi

Fastest Mile pace: 11:41/mi

Average Speed: 5.0 mph

Average Heartrate: 162 bpm

Calories burned: 449

Workout song of the day: “Blinded By The Light” by Manfred Mann

Link of the day:

http://health.yahoo.net/rodale/RW/running-start-here

Pretty good ideas and tips of how to start running.  It definitely took me around 4-5 months to be able to run 3 miles relatively comfortably.  Even now though, it is a challenge!

Any thoughts? Leave your comment below!

p.s. if you have any suggestions for workout songs, leave them in the comments!

About TestingTrueChange

I am a 22 year old recent graduate working on losing the weight and changing my life in a positive way.
This entry was posted in Workouts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Running and Weight Loss

  1. Alan says:

    Blinded by the light. Actually a Springsteen Song. His anthems like Badlands, no retreat no surrender and born to Run (and Rosalita) are great running songs!!

  2. Great job already reaching your 62 lbs goal! I know you can definitely lose 2lbs this week 🙂

    As far as workout songs, I find music like Blaqk Audio to be the best, because all of it is extremely upbeat and fun to listen to on a run! Lately, I’ve also really enjoyed Bruno Mars’ new music like “Just the Way You Are”. It’s a fun song to listen to when working out.

    Glad to hear you’re doing well! Talk to you soon 🙂

  3. Another great day for you! Ha! Blinded By The Light. Stupid radio stations that play the same songs over and over. In the last three days, I have heard that song 3 times. I was sick today or I am sure it would have been 4. 😀

    I am so jealous of you being able to run like that. I have lost some weight but I am still in horrific shape.

    I bought a bike yesterday online to ride on the Mississippi River Levee behind my apartment and things have hit a speed bump. Even though the store locator said they had a bike in stock, I got an email telling me it will be two weeks. 😦

    So if I had gone to the store yesterday, I would have a bike but because Walmart’s system is so messed up, even though a bike is sitting there I need to wait 2 weeks. Rant over. 🙂

    Keep up the great work!

    • Thanks! Yes that song plays all the time here on the radio, couldn’t help but listen to it!

      Trust me, when I started I couldn’t run for a minute straight 😛 It just took small steps. For me biking would be incredibly hard, but that’s the beautiful thing about working out, it can be individualized! I really hope that the bike works for you even if it takes a while to get 🙂 Oh and totally understand how frustrating that can be, a rant is necessary every now and then!

  4. cruz2lose says:

    Once again, I commend you on the running! I need to add some exercise into my plan instead of just talking about it! : )

  5. genkikitty says:

    Remember that you should run every other day, not every day. You will tire yourself out and not burn as many calories if you run everyday. At least that is what the experts suggest. I’m working on training for another half-marathon but I still don’t run everyday. Have you tried fartleking? Sounds strange but it is such a good workout and will really burn those calories. But then again, it’s not about the calories but about health, right? ^_^

  6. jorgebriones says:

    Congratulations on your accomplishments. Your mindset is similar to my own when I started the diet. It’s a thrill to know that week after week the scale drops. Interestingly, when I started, I weighed 250 pounds and wanted to reach 180 pounds. I reached that goal within nine months. After reaching that I challenged myself to take an additional ten by the end of the month and then another and then another. By the time I reached a full year, I had lost more than 100 pounds. Since then I have gained a few pounds back. But I gained the weight on purpose as I lost too much weight.

    Nevertheless I commend you. You definitely an inspiration. By the way you list “RESULTS”. Do you use a specialized heart monitor watch? I used a Polar F4 series and quite frankly it is difficult to use. *Correction* The strap is uncomfortable especially when I am running. Anyway, good luck with your goals. I’ll be rooting for you. 🙂

    • Thank you! Well done on your accomplishment that is quite an inspiration to me as well 🙂

      I use a garmin Forerunner 405cx. The heart monitor strap can definitely be a bit uncomfortable, but getting the results is so worth it for me. I really appreciate the support and look forward to hearing more about your trials and tribulations with the NYC Marathon!

Leave a Reply

