I am a Survivor, Searching for my Destiny

Today was an AWESOME workout.  Although I didn’t quite match my 5k time of 35 minutes or the distance, I felt like I was on a roll. The legs and lungs felt good today!   I could definitely have gone another mile or two.  Maybe next time!

Results:

Starting Weight: 296 lbs

Current Approx. Weight: 234.8 lbs

Distance: 3.01 miles

Total Time: 36:14 minutes

Average Mile pace: 12:04 /mile

Fastest Mile pace: 11:43 /mile

Average Heartrate: 168 bpm

Calories burned: 720

Workout song of the day: Survivor by Destiny’s Child

Recommended by Beth over at http://weight4us.wordpress.com/

I decided to make my own video to a little bit different version of the song.  Let me know what you think!  Also as a precaution, the video is a bit shaky.  Enjoy!

Link of the day: Lose it!  http://loseit.com/

This is a free application that you can use on your iPhone to keep track of calories and have a weight loss plan.  I actually haven’t tried it but it looks like it could be a really useful tool while trying to lose weight.  If you have tried it or are planning to, leave your feedback below and let me know how it is!

Thought of the Day:

I’ve been really contemplating what it is that moves me to lose weight and why I can’t stop with my efforts.  The conclusion that I have come to is one that I have seen at other websites and heard from other people, but never fully grasped until recently.  This idea is that no matter how much weight I’ve lost or gained, time will continue to move forward.  This puts it all into perspective for me.  Why should  I be disappointed about losing 4 pounds, even if it takes a year?  I am still 4 pounds less than last year!  I am finding more and more that patience and forgiveness for yourself when you make mistakes are really important.  So now, I will try to forgive myself when I eat a little too much (ahem, like tonight when I’m going for all you can eat sushi) or when I don’t work out enough (like last Friday!).  All that is really important is that I keep pushing and keep making an effort.  I am starting to think that this perspective applies to a lot of things in life.  Let me know what you think!

Hope you all have a great Valentine’s Day!

Any thoughts? Leave your comments below!

About TestingTrueChange

I am a 22 year old recent graduate working on losing the weight and changing my life in a positive way.
This entry was posted in Workouts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I am a Survivor, Searching for my Destiny

  1. Alan says:

    Great job…interesting video!!

  2. Cool idea David! Nice job!

  3. Great job on your weight loss. I need to get back to walking. I have used cold weather as an excuse….even when not cold. 😀

    Keep up the great work.

    • I have used that excuse many many times! Unfortunately for me I am originally from Minnesota so I don’t know how legitimate it is for me :/

      Thank you for reading and commenting! 😀

  4. Great video!!! It got me motivated to do my Wii Fit stuff tonight!

    I must say, I’m intensely jealous of you having all you can eat sushi tonight. haha. It’s my favorite! Enjoy!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

