Small Steps Lead to Large Results

Well I’ve decided to follow my theme of consistency with my posting.  I think I will have posts about my workouts (mainly to keep myself accountable) every Monday, Wednesday and Friday.  So without further ado, today’s workout was a bit of a struggle.  Although I still ran one decent mile, the other was a little lackluster.  Next run day is Monday and I hope to do better then.

Stats:

Starting Weight: 296

Current Approx. Weight: 235

Distance: 2.0 miles

Total Time: 29:56 min

Average Mile pace: 14:57/mi

Fastest Mile pace: 11:44/mi

Average Speed: 4.0

Average Heartrate: 142

Calories burned: 413

Stats for the day

Workout song of the day: Gerry Rafferty-Baker Street

Link of the day: http://www.344pounds.com/2011/02/sacrifices-must-be-made-to-lose-weight/

There are some very good points in his post.  As I will talk about soon, part of losing weight deals with the choices that we make.  It’s important to take the time to go to the gym and to do things that are good for your health.  The future of your life depends on it!

Tip for the day:

I guess the one piece of advice and wisdom I could pass on, is that in my experience weight loss and really anything in life is about small steps towards a goal.  You wouldn’t expect to become CEO of a corporation overnight right? I mean that would be awesome, but very unlikely.  Instead you would fulfill all the duties necessary to become that CEO over time.  You would probably go to business school somewhere and get a degree.  Then you would start out in a low to mid level position.  Then you would fulfill your duties to a T and even go above and beyond.  The point is it is the same with anything else in life, especially weight loss.  It is necessary to take the small steps because they help to build a foundation for your future successes.

So, the question then is what are some small steps that have worked for me?

1.     30 minutes of any type of exercise a day.

2.     Regulating when my meals occur.

3.     Sleep for at least 7 hours a night.

What do you think?

Let’s start a discussion, leave your comments below and sign up for email updates to see future posts!

About TestingTrueChange

I am a 22 year old recent graduate working on losing the weight and changing my life in a positive way.
This entry was posted in Workouts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Small Steps Lead to Large Results

  1. cruz2lose says:

    You are doing such an incredible job and I support you on your journey!

    I do have to pull an intervention here though….
    I challenge you to a work out with Destiny’s Child – Survivor. ; )

  2. D... says:

    Just come across from Skinny Emmie’s site. This was just the reminder I needed today thanks, the little steps really add up in the end, I get really impatient and want instant gratification! You’ve come along way, congratulations!!! Look forward to reading more

    • Thank you so much for checking my blog out! I definitely understand how hard it can be, and I also sometimes can convince myself that if I don’t lose it all right away it’s not worth it. But it really is worth it in the end! Keep going with your progress and don’t give up, there’s only one direction worth going and that’s healthier! 🙂

  3. Kara says:

    David! Great job on the running. I’ve been hitting the gym every day, I’m hoping to eventually run a half marathon later this year (I currently don’t have the attention span to run that long though unfortunately). Have you tried running intervals instead of at a consistent pace (my personal trainer and my magazines say that interval running burns more fat and calories than plain running alone)? Make sure you take your measurements with a tape measure–that can show more progress than the scale, since muscle weighs more than fat the scale can be deceiving in how lean you’re actually getting. Are you strength training at all?

    • Kara! Thanks for checking the blog out! I hope you are doing well 🙂 Let me know how the half marathon goes! I hope to run a half marathon in a year or two (when I get more in shape). I really appreciate the advice, I have also heard that intervals are really good for you. I am slowly but surely getting into shape to be able to do intervals effectively. I am strength training every Sunday, Tuesday and Thursday!

      Stay in touch!
      ~David

Leave a Reply

